Setting Tax Rates

Tax rates (levies) are set each year by local taxing jurisdictions within the limits set by the Missouri Constitution and laws.  Rates are based on revenues that had been permitted for the prior year with an allowance for growth based on the rate of inflation.  Projected revenue needs for the current taxable year are divided by assessed valuation of the taxing jurisdiction with values from new construction and improvements, and any increments in personal property valuation, held aside.  The resulting tax rate becomes the permitted rate for the year if it falls within the ceiling permitted that local government.

Levying Taxes

Taxes are levied against property based on the rates as permitted by voters, collected by the Collector and then distributed back to the taxing entities.  In other words, the Johnson County Collector bill and collects property taxes on behalf of the taxing entities within the County.

Total Tax Rate

The levy is sometimes referred to as mill levy because the rate is actually set per $100 of assessed valued.  The Johnson County Assessor determines the assessed value, but your tax levy (or rate) is set by the officials within each taxing jurisdiction.  To determine the total tax due, the assessed value is multiplied x each levy for each district and then a sum of all tax is displayed as a total tax due.

Tax Formula:

Assessed Value/100


Tax Rate (levy)